Using GTD for the big things ?

A

Anonymous

Lurking through these forums and going through the book, I found this system very logical and effective. Having tried it in a half (or quarter) hearted manner , I have some success with minor things that I had been postponing for a couple of years (repair vacuum cleaner, send a couple of letters for change of address etc.) Not had majot success becuase i always skip the weekly review, but the major learning has been to differentiate between a project and next action.

Though these discussions have been going on in different ways, I wonder how many of the people have had major successes vs minor successes.
Examples of minor successed would be as detailed above while major successes would be such as "changing careers", changing jobs, increasing your income, buying a house , reduced timings at work, work-life balance etc.

How many people have integrated GTD into comlpex projects that typically are planned using a projecy management tool such as MS-Project and how did you link the project tasks to outlook.

Deepak

A

Anonymous

For me GTD has done that I have used time better, and have time to sit down and look at my goals list, goal leads to projects and NA. I have been told by my boss that he has seen that i have thing under control, and want me to take a new step in my company.

S

spirithaven

JUST BOUGHT A NEW HOUSE AND MOVED IN USING GTD METHOD

Hi!

I just had a major project completed (well mostly completed since I am still unpacking) but I just bought a house and moved using the GTD method.

The only times I had problems were from other people's delays!! I should teach my builder about GTD, I swear!!

It was great.....I am an extremely busy plant accountant and thanks to GTD it was like I was in more than one place at a time.

I got all the information to the lenders as soon as they asked for it.
I had my house insurance setup before I moved.
My appliances were bought 3 weeks in advance of the move.