Using GTD on Mac AND PC (Outlook) any suggestions?

KenL321

Registered
I am new to GTD community and am now implimenting GTD. I live with Outlook, on desktop when in home office and on my PDA when away. I just got a Mac, and would like GTD to be part of that system. Have a MobileMe account. Looking for a simple way to impliement GTD in Outlook and also have it available on the Mac laptop (when I travel). There seems to be a lot of SW out there, but haven't found the fit. Any ideas?

Ken L

bertplat

Registered
Hi Ken,

There are some great apps available for Windows, and some great apps for OSX. Cross-platform, now, that's a different story. The only one I know of is ThinkingRock. Otherwise, webbased apps would seem to be the way to go, but then you forego the power of desktop apps.

As for getting just your mail to sync between computers: make sure you use the IMAP protocol rather than POP3. POP3 is meant to download your mail to the computer you happen to be using; with IMAP the mail remains on the server, accessible and editable from multiple computers with multiple applications (such as Outlook on the one and Apple Mail on the other). It does mean you need more space on the server, however. Your internet provider might not offer that much space, but others do. Contact me if you want to know more.

This (oldish) thread on Lifehacker might be of some help, too.

dschaffner

Registered
bertplat;64418 said:
There are some great apps available for Windows, and some great apps for OSX. Cross-platform, now, that's a different story. The only one I know of is ThinkingRock. Otherwise, webbased apps would seem to be the way to go, but then you forego the power of desktop apps.

As for getting just your mail to sync between computers: make sure you use the IMAP protocol rather than POP3.

I'd echo Ken's comment on IMAP. That should let you keep the email on the server and both computers.