What is the most similar replacement for the NetCentrics GTD Add-in?

texastone

Registered
I have been using the NetCentrics Add-in for many years. I just saw that it will no longer be supported for new machines. I would like to find a new tool that closely mimics its functionality and layout with Outlook. Can anyone recommend a particular solution?

mcogilvie

Registered
The problem with outlook is that Microsoft never took the todo list functionality seriously, and has failed to port it to newer, popular platforms such as the iPhone. To be fair, there are non-trivial technical issues. However, this in turn means that the market for such an add-in is limited, because few users are pc-only. Microsoft's acquisition of Wunderlist reflects their need for a cross-platform todo list. The future is uncertain, but I would look at Wunderlist. Davidco has a setup guide for Wunderlist coming soon.

kelstarrising

Kelly | GTD expert
Netcentrics is actually built off of our GTD & Outlook Setup Guide (https://gtdconnect.com/store/product.php?productid=16997&cat=263&page=). So you could mimic the setup just by following the Guide. You just won't have the cool features that Netcentrics adds like linking and seeing actions by project.

Yes, Wunderlist is a great option, although it is only a list manager. So it will only manage your project, next action, and reference lists. You'll still need tools outside Wunderlist to manage your email and calendar. That said, Wunderlist is a great one to consider. I would seriously consider moving to it myself if I didn't love Evernote so much!

As for the feature of linking projects to actions, like Netcentrics, there are only two tools I know of that will come close to that:
eProductivity for Lotus Notes (but LN is not a consumer option really, nor would I recommend it)
OmniFocus for Mac desktop (only on Mac and only handles lists like Wunderlist)

Hope this helps!

texastone

Registered