When you can't ignore the phone...

B

beresford

OK I'm brand new here and am desperate for a way to organize my job. This place looks promising.
But here's my dilemma: although in management/admin, I am also a veterinarian. I can NEVER ignore my phone because it could be a medical emergency, and that emergency can change the course of my whole day in a heartbeat. So there is no "hold my calls" available for me.
Of course, not all calls are emergencies....some are time-wasters..(':evil:')

I also have no dedicated secretary who can screen for me.
You all need to rearrange schedules at times. How do you suggest handling this problem?[/b]

Jacques

Registered
Re: When you can't ignore the phone...

Hello,

Your problem as I understand it :
  • 1. Must: always answer to a medical emergency
    2. Must: emergencies can't be on hold.
    3. Hi want: do my regular management/admin tasks efficiently (for which I can get calls too)
    4. Want : avoid time-wasters calls (':evil:')
    5. Want : minimize rearranging schedules

a) You have another screening option:
  • :arrow: Answering machine, even when you are here. With some message alike:

"Hello, you've called Beresford. I am operating now. If I am in a position to hear you, I'll take the phone. If not I'll call you back within 15 minutes if your call is for an emergency. In all cases, tell me what you need from me, when (and which phone) you want I call you back. Thanks. "
    Of course if it is an emergency you take the phone immediately, the" what you need from me?" is usually a pretty good filter with talkative persons.

b) For your regular management/admin tasks , lessen the risk of bad phone interrupts during the day:
  • :arrow: Call or meet persons with whom you interact beginning of the day, to prevent as much as possible their surprise calls during the day.
    :arrow: Prefer a written communication system for work, (mail or notes). So you keep the initiative of calling if needed,