Where do all the project support material folders go?

willbetoned

Registered
I guess I am not following the initial collection thing yet, I am going through all my files and purging like crazy and trying to set up a new pro-GTD filing system - with the 43 folder tickler and the reference file drawers. There's so much stuff that I don't want to even make it to "IN" it's going right out! I've been working out of this home office for 17 years and I have a stack of paper beside my shredder as high as it is (it's too early to shred without disturbing my neighbours.

I am running into a problem with the project files - both the way DA uses the word and the way most people do. I thought I understood what DA said about project folders and I realized there'd be a lot - but where do they all go? I have a place for active client project folders - the kind of work I do I don't have too many contracts at one time. But with the wider definition of active projects I have lots - including prospective client sales efforts, household projects, personal expression things. Well I am sure you get it.

I'm trying to re-use a lot of the various organizational gear I've bought in the past. I have tons of folders (having emptied so many out) and I have yet to re-arrange the office so all my drawers are within swivel distance. I've tried other organization methods before - usually starting by buying a bunch of stuff and then not following through. So I'd like to see how GTD will work for me before I start buying more things.