Why not leave the '@' out on Category names?

J

JoeGuitar

Hey folks,

I've been using GTD for a couple of years now. Right *now* I need to define a bunch of task / todo category names for my work laptop. (It doesn't sync with my personal stuff, and that's OK, btw.)

Anyway, I'm sorely tempted to leave the '@' sign off the beginning of each category name. I'm sure there's a reason for it, but I can't remember why. I do know that if I left it off, I could jump to categories much faster by just typing the first letter of a category.

That is, a few category names I will have are...

@career
@networking
@recruiting
@wiki

If I left the @ sign off, I can just type 'r' to immediately jump to 'recruiting' in my Outlook task list.

So before I depart from this nuance of GTD, can anyone tell me why I should leave the '@' sign?

Thanks,
-- JoeGuitar

kewms

Registered
Using the @ sign sorts all of your context categories to the beginning of an alphabetical list, separating them from other categories you might have.

The examples you gave look like they are mostly *not* contexts, and therefore should *not* have the @ sign. Context categories are things like "@phone," "@errands," and so forth.

Katherine

J

JoeGuitar

Thanks! Good to know that I probably have been misapplying it.

Now I need to figure out if I'm brave enough to change it on my GTD home Outlook / Treo system ;) I'll try one or two categories first.

Best regards,
-- JoeGuitar

mcogilvie

Registered
Outlook makes using a special sign for contexts particularly desirable, because it has a global category list shared for all items. So categories for notes/memos like "Lists" or "Key Info" also appear for tasks, along with "Party Girls" from your address book :). I think it was a poor design choice and a big pain. For GTD, you don't want to have to scroll down a long list of categories and have to recall each time if it is a context.

smithdoug

Registered