Work/Home?

J

justanengineer

I'm new to GTD.

Just had a 5 week vacation, after an immensely stressful spring. It took me two weeks to be able to relax. I decided,that this cannot go on. I have always been proud of myself having the ability to keep everything in my head. No lists, no written notes. Finally, I realized that the reason for not being able to sleep at night was the constant re-iterating thought in my mid: "what have I forgotten, what have I forgotten...". Silly, isn't it? :)

Implementing lists and sorting through and organizing my workplace - now my desk looks like I have an empty mind... - made me relax at home. I have been able to fall asleep within minutes.

Talking about home. I sometimes feel i have more stuff to do at home than at work. Call the plumber, maintain the house, plan the new kitchen, buy new tool. The goal is to add this into GTD, and today I started with a small notebook (74mm x 105mm) and wrote everything down that I could think of.

But a question arises. Do I have separate system for work and for home? I don't want to do my home stuff at work during billable time. And I prefer to think about work when I'm able to bill someone for it! :)

Work/Home does not have any connections really, I cannot get to work data from home, and vice versa. Inboxes totally separate. The only thing I like to do is to take notes in my notebook whenever I come to think about it (work/home does not matter).

Should I have two separate systems, with two weekly reviews and so on? I bet someone out there have already figured this one out.

Thank you for any input!

bmd

Registered
work/home

I'm with you on the proliferation of tasks at home. I'm a relative newbie, and I do have two systems. But my @Errands and @Calls lists merge, and that's where I gain efficiency. Same stops or same parts of town for buying stuff for both home and work, and the late afternoon (when I'm already home) is often the best time to reach folks for work-related calls.