no longer knowledge worker

erikP

Registered
Since im not a knowledgeworker anymore, i'm a carpenter, I realy am struggeling with GTD. I hope on some advice from you all.

let me explain the differences: i used to be a general contractor with about 20 employees. I had an office as a base to work from. so i could organise files and folders on a regular basis. (mixed paper and outlook)
Nowadays i'm "just" a carpenter. still doing larger projects like renovating a church. But i am doing carpentry work as a main job. Besides that there are about 12 people i am responsible for as they are subcontractors.

there are some similarities in the work. still mail and paper and still projects with numerous subprojects (with their own sub..... you get it)

As you will understand i'm struggeling with capture and clarify. partially i do not have the time nor physical space to do it at the spot (no office anymore). partially not all the information is available for late that day and with energy levels low at the end of the day things should rather be uncomplicated.

anyone with the same issues and a probable solution?

Cpu_Modern

Registered
Why no office if you still have paper shuffling as part of the gig? What about an iPad as a mobile office?

When I was a craftsman the boss did all the office stuff first thing in the morning and then joined us in the ring and stayed there until everything was done for the day. What about starting the day with a 30 min stint at "@paper" and then go over to "@timber"?

erikP

Registered
Hi CPU

Thanks for your quick reactionFirst thing in the morning is instructions for co-workers. And after that production needs to be high for "@timber", but there are a lot of disruptions for there is always an opportunity for co-workers to come and ask.
Of course i do have a desk at home you could call an office (even in the netherlands we have taxes to do). But a separate building with a secretary, desks, server and computers is out of the question nowadays.