4-creteria model for choosing what to do question

Ipatove

Registered
4-creteria model for choosing what to do. I think I don't understand this model. Let's say I have 'Call My brother re: organizing a party for mom' at my action list. I'm at my office without access to the phone. Why should I think about the context creteria (@office) where I can't call my brother if I know that's the most important thing I have to do? I mean if I follow this model I would call my brother only when I have access to the phone. And what happens if I don't?

pxt

Registered
Hello,

I'm a relative beginner, but I thought I'd jump in on this one.

If calling your brother is a high priority and there are consequences to not doing so promptly ( or you just really want to ), then this belongs on your calendar.

In GTD, you work off your calendar first, then fill opportunistically from your contexts.

P.

Myriam

Registered
let me ask you another question...

Ipatove;84631 said:
I mean if I follow this model I would call my brother only when I have access to the phone.

How exactly did you want to call your brother without a phone?????

Seriously: contexts don't work for "urgent, must-do-now-or-something-bad-will-happen"-things. They work for "mmm, I've got time now, what could I do that would be useful"-things.

Myriam

Suelin23

Registered
Call brother - this would be on my home context list.
So if I'm at my office, I check my Office context list, and think about how much time I have. I'm lucky, today no meetings until afternoon. Ok, so my context list is sorted by time (short, medium, long), so I decide to tackle a long task cos I have plenty of time.
Energy - it's the morning, I'm feeling great so I'll try something that needs lots of focus.
Priority - try a high priority action first.
Looking at my list, the action 'Plan risk assessment project' is listed as being long, high energy, high priority, so I'll do that.