A few more newbie questions for the list

M

Mikewo

I've been using GTD (or at least attempting to) for the last three months or so. I've slowly been incorporating it into my daily routine and am very happy with the results. However, I'm picking up some questions along the way and hope the veterans on this forum can help out.

1. Next Next Next Next Actions.... This is where I add a project to my list and can immediately think of 10 actions that all rely on each other to complete the project. For example, I'll add a project that is something like "Get my brother hooked on GTD". I'll think about the actions for this which are (A) @Errand - purchase another copy of GTD, (B) @Agenda-Brother - Arrange night out with Brother, (C) @Agenda - Brother - Give GTD copy to Brother, (D) @Phone Call - Call Brother to annoy the heck out of him till he reads the book. You get the idea. I already know the steps to take care of the whole project. Do I enter them all in? Do I put the first one in where it is supposed to go and then slap all the rest in the Waiting For list?

2. I'm getting my Waiting For items and things that should go into a Tickler mixed up. Right now I don't have much of a Tickler file. I use Outlook and put Tasks in with reminder dates for me to remember to do something. I don't like adding them to the Calendar on specific dates because if I miss one I don't get a nice view of what I missed. Does anyone have good advice on how to distinguish Waiting For from Tickler? In essense I'm waiting on something and want to be reminded at a later date about it.

3. On a related note, if you have a phone call you want to make in three months (i.e., Call Kennel Re: Boarding pet for weekend of XXXXX). Where does that go? Phone Calls? Waiting For? Tickler? It sounds like Tickler item to be me. I'd like to hear how other people are doing this.

Thanks,

MikeWo

unstuffed

Registered
Some questions gitsu some answers

Mikewo;45471 said: