Achieve Planner software from Effexis

moises

Registered
I have been GTDing for three years. I started in Excel. I quickly migrated to Outlook, then the Netcentrics Outlook Add-in. I stayed with the Add-In for more than two years. My goal has always been to get things done, not to have the latest system with the neatest gadgets. From time to time I would read some enthusiastic review of this or that application and become curious. I would visit the website and decide that I didn’t need the latest bells and whistles to manage my NA and Project lists. The Outlook add-in was serving me just fine. Simplicity trumps complexity in my calculus unless complexity delivers significant benefits.

I always had some nagging reservations about Outlook, however. For my typical activities, Outlook with the add-in was sufficient. But there were occasions where I had to direct very complex projects that extended for months—like finding supplemental warehouse space and moving into it—where Outlook with the add-in just did not cut it. There was a Pareto Principle situation here. Eighty percent of my tasks were either projectless or parts of very simple projects. Twenty percent of my tasks were parts of complex projects. But those complex projects constituted 80% of the value of what I do. Eighty percent of the value of my system came from managing the 20% of my tasks that are involved in complex projects.

My past involvement with such projects had taught me that project management software, like MS Project, was quite useful for managing complex projects. My GTD nirvana (yes, I know, it doesn’t exist) was the integration of Outlook with Project. The problem with Project is that there is no good way to track NAs. It is best for more coarsely grained outcomes than for fine-grained actions. The problem with Outlook is that, even with the add-in, it is not set up for complex projects.