Advise on capturing

D

DaveM

I have a question on what I believe to a capturing issue. I am still relatively new to GTD, I have a Palm, just started synching to Outlook. For the past 2 years I have used the Franklin Covey system.
I am in sales and commonly have to take notes on what happens or needs to happens with customers. What is the best way to capture this because alot of next actions occur from these meetings?
Also, how would you use GTD in a CYA fashion, unfortunately my work can get alittle political in nature?
Thanks, Dave

V

vegheadjones

My 2 cents

1. Capturing, and processing are two different things. You want to capture everything as quickly as you can, put it in you In-box, and process it when you can. For me, paper is the way to go with capturing, I use a yellow legal pad, one sheet per item, and I try to process them all at the end of the day.

2. Lots of ways to CYA, this would happen on the processing side. I document everything in Outlook, saving all e-mails, and completed tasks if they are something I will need later. I have a category set up for these, and a view that shows only these items when needed.

Hope this helps.

A

Anonymous

Dave -

As someone else who has also used both belief systems; this "translation" may help:

Franklin Quest's Daily Record of Events = GTD "In"

Capture the IN-formation as it is coming at you into the "Daily Record of Events" - whether it's Paper or Digital. (David also recomments Time & Date stamping all information that you receive, so this approach may not be as "sacreligious" as it may first seem - lol)

When you review the info (at the end of the day: Franklin; or at the end of the week: GTD) then decide what you want to do with it. If it's an appointment, task for the future, make sure you've scheduled it or put it on a Next Action List (FQ = Master Task List).