Anxiety Disorder and GTD

F

Freebird

I am new to this GTD stuff. I came upon this forum while looking for forums for people who suffer from Generalized Anxiety Disorder or any related illnesses (social anxiety, depression, panic attacks). I have suffered from GAD and depression my whole life. All the people who can't stop the swirling thoughts in their brains long enough to get anything done are not alone. However, there are those of us who cannot benefit from ideas like GTD without first having some help from anti-anxiety medication.

I am not saying everyone with anxiety needs to be on medication. I am saying that some people have a chemical imbalance that causes paralyzing anxiety and often depression. I am one of these people. Are you? I find writing about this has been therapeutic and invite anyone who can relate to read my blog: http://www.myanxietyblog.com .

In a newer post I talk about Cognitive Behavior Therapy which seems to use many of the techniques of GETTING THINGS DONE. However, a trained psychotherapist has the expertise to help each individual anxiety sufferer wade throught their personal triggers and blocks and teaches each patient to live a happy and productive life. Most people would benefit from CBT and GTD. But some people can't function hardly at all and need help desperately. These anxiety sufferers often don't know what their problem is. I hope reading my blog will help you if you think you have been merely a "lunatic" your whole life. You can find help.

C

CosmoGTD

Hi there, I also agree that CBT and GTD go well together.
I also agree that for GAD, depression, panic, etc, people should seek help, from the counsel of a trained psychologist, with an excellent reputation and referrals.
The evidence does show that certain people do benefit from medication, when taken in conjunction with therapy, and self-help.