Anyone using wiki-styled apps like Notion or Confluence?

Raphael Aguiar

Registered
Hi there!

I use Evernote and Todoist since I started learning about GTD one year ago. However, I never felt comfortable using Evernote because I'm kind of a visual guy, and Evernote turns out to store everything in an old-fashioned, fragmented way (notebooks, notebook stacks, notes).

I think our digital stuff doesn't need to be digital A4 sheets stuck in digital folders, notebooks or cabinets. Instead, they could be organized into wiki-styled, hyperlinked websites (like the internet itself).

This model is more natural to me, since our minds work like networks - always trying to associate ideas, thoughts and data rather than retrieving each one of them separately from a cabinet.

While dealing with my frustration, I found two interesting apps: Notion (http://notion.so) and Confluence (https://www.atlassian.com/software/confluence). I ended up subscribing to Notion.

Although none of them are specifically made for GTD, both suit well for most GTD concepts. I made a Notion public template for GTD projects (in Portuguese):
http://goo.gl/ssPxwx

Does anyone here use any wiki-styled apps? If so, which one do you use?

Last edited:

devon.marie

Registered
Notion is AWESOME. I'm flirting with swapping out Evernote and my file storage with Notion, because its code-storing ability is second to none.

I'm too knee-deep into using Trello for my lists, though, to swap. That, and Trello is everything I need and then some. I have no reason to leave at this time. Notion is a serious next-level application, though, and I bet many people will love it for managing lists!

Laure

Registered
hey, check out Slite (https://slite.com), it's a super collaborative, simple and modern team wiki :) lots of teams are stopping to use Confluence to use Slite instead! would love to hear what you think!

mcogilvie

Registered