Billing Time for Clients?

jennytg3

Registered
Does anyone have any suggestions for how to bill time using GTD? I'm a marketing consultant with 9 clients and am constantly replying to emails from clients and doing small tasks (some are less than 2 minutes) throughout the day. I often don't take the time to write down the time but will get to the end of the day having worked all day but have no billing to show for it. I'm getting busier and busier but it doesn't seem like I'm making any more money.

I bill clients by the hour but only count the actual minutes I work (i.e. I don't 'round up'.) I also submit detailed invoices but feel weird about billing someone 5 minutes and explaining 'answered your email'.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Jenny

Barry

Registered
Have a kitchen timer (that can count up) or stopwatch for each client on your desk. Start it each time you open an email or answer a phone call for that client. Stop it when you are finished. At the end of the day, the accumulated time on each watch is your billable amount. There are software solutions that allow you to do the same thing more elegantly.

Billing may just be administrative, but in a sense it is the most important thing you do each day. Don't overlook it.

jennytg3

Registered
thank you

Thanks Barry. You're right - no one pays me unless I bill them. I'm going to copy your statement and put it where I can see it often.

I'm interested in the software applications you mentioned - can you or anyone else recommend a good one that can track by minute with at least 9 different accounts going at the same time?

bassdrone42

Registered
Lawfirms are where it's at!

I don't know if this will help or not, but it might point you in the right direction.

I have some friends in the "computer-geek" biz and 1 of their primary markets are lawfirms. Billing time on multiple accounts is exactly what the software they sell does.