Contacts, Agendas or Next Actions

ddewees

Registered
I am a manager in a medium sized IT consulting firm. I have to manage and maintain contact with dozens of clients, 6 direct reports, 80+ employees as well as half dozen peers and office support folks.

Using the @agenda context to store NA's works for some but not for others. How are others managing this number of contacts. For some I want to have regular follow up or contact with. I could see where these could be "ticklers" or reminders on my calendar. Others may be less regular but I want to make sure nothing is slipping through the cracks.

I know ACT! is a more powerful contact manager but I would prefer to keep it all in Outlook and Palm.

Dave

J

Jason Womack

Re: Contacts, Agendas or Next Actions

ddewees said:
Using the @agenda context to store NA's works for some but not for others. How are others managing this number of contacts. For some I want to have regular follow up or contact with. I could see where these could be "ticklers" or reminders on my calendar. Others may be less regular but I want to make sure nothing is slipping through the cracks.

Hello...

I think I would approach this as: What do I need to see, when, and how? All the ideas are great here, the only addition I would make is that whatever you use to collect and organize the “Things to talk about,” be processed sooner than later. Because of the life that some people lead, it's imperative that they consciously decide where they're going to collect "potential" work.

Clients I have worked with carry 3X5 note cards in their pockets, a note pad in their purse, one even uses an "auto-dial" on her phone to "leave a voice mail at the office" when she's out on client visits. Remember, capturing what to tell someone, and then actually having that to tell then when you see them is the beauty of this system.