Do you use Pocket Informant's Hierarchical tasks?

M

MikeTozer

I've been doing GTD for a few years now, but have recently begun using Pocket Informant as my main tool for storing my GTD lists. It's a great tool, as many others on these forums have mentioned, that is feature-rich, flexible, very user-friendly, and works really well with Outlook. I'd highly recommened it, although I'm still learning how tweak it to work best for GTD.

One PI function that seems very appropriate to GTD is hierarchical tasks. However, this function doesn't seem to have been mentioned on this forum on any of the past threads on PI. It could be because it is a relatively new function.

So, I'm wondering, have any of the PI users out there found hierarchical tasks useful for GTD? If so, how have you implemented it?

I have a few ideas, but would like to hear what more experienced PI-users do first.

E

emp

Hmm..

I have tried around with the hierarchical task list in PI, but I was not satisfied.
Now I stick with the pigpog method of organizing projects and next actions.

This, for me, is the perfect fit in a digital GTD implementation. Bridging projects and their actions where before was a huge chasm in my system.

You can either google it yourself or follow this link

http://pigpog.com/node/1031

:: emp ::

M

MikeTozer

Any other hierarchicals out there?

Thanks for the tip, emp.

I've also tried the pigpog method for a while, and found it helpful. The one thing it doesn't do too well (at least the way I implemented it) is to let you see just a simple list of your projects, without the Next Actions getting in the way.

I'm finding that if I have each NA as a sub-task of the project, then I can choose to view NAs when I'm 'doing', and then just the projects when I'm 'reviewing'. Or even both at the same time.

But the downside is that is taking much more time than the pigpog method to keep my system up-to-date.

Is anyone else successfully using hierarchical tasks?

Mike

emuelle1