Filing System for Digital Photos

Christopher13

Registered
Living withing the age of digital photography, I am finding an ever increasing backlog of SD cards and photo folders in my virtual and physical inboxes.
I remain stumped for a solution to easily organize the photos and back them all up safely so a computer failure will not result in years of lost family memories.
I am thinking there is somehow a solution with Google's Picasa, but haven't completely worked it out yet.
Criteria - simple to use, quick to use, easy to review, retains resolution, and can be easily backed up to external media.
Are there any suggestions on what application works well to file and backup photos? What filing system is working well for you folks to manage your digital photos?

mcogilvie

Registered
iPhoto

I am only a casual photographer, and find myself using my phone camera much more than my nifty camera, so my opinion is not worth much to a serious amateur, let alone a professional. But iPhoto gives you a lot of organizing tools.

Oogiem

Registered
Christopher13;102517 said:
Are there any suggestions on what application works well to file and backup photos? What filing system is working well for you folks to manage your digital photos?

I use Adobe Lightroom, and ham working on thousands of my own digital photos. separate catalogs for hundreds of scanned historical photos and also scanning a backlog of my own running into the thousands of old slides, negatives and prints.

Powerful, hard to learn on occasion but very good once you get it.

Buy Victoria Bampton's book, very useful!

ellobogrande

Registered
I use a simple file-folder structure under My Pictures to store photos.

My Pictures
Photos
e.g. 2012
e.g. 10-01 - Sunset Photos
pxxxxxxxx.jpg​

Each year I back up the current year's photos to CD/DVD and take a copy offsite. I test the backups annually as well. I back up current year photos to Mozy.

TesTeq

Registered
File naming and metadata?

ellobogrande;102572 said: