First day at school …

Busydave

Registered
I have been running GTD on Filofax for a while now. As some others have reported, there is an occasional need to rewrite items when a page starts to get untidy and unattractive looking with many items crossed out.

It is the need for squared off tidiness that is making me think of switching to PDA.

I am an utter, blank, total novice with regard to PDAs. I do not know anyone who uses one, no have I ever been shown how they work or what they do. I don’t know if the format is closer to Word or to Excel.

My requirements are very basic: I would like to list about three hundred projects under current or someday, plus three hundred NAs to go with them, under about 15 contexts.

If there is more capacity, I would probably add lists of wines, books, CDs, places to go.

If there is some Word-like facility for storing passages of text, I would store some quotations/affirmations, and maybe some pages with project bullet points.

Another question, what are the basic requirements for synchronising a PDA with a PC? Does the PDA have to be synched with Outlook, or can data be transferred from Word and/or Excel into the PDA? (I run two different releases of Outlook at home and in work).

Can I update my full lists of projects and NAs on PC in their appropriate lists, and then transfer the updated lists straight to PDA?

Can I basically link my PDA to my PC when I get to the office, and keep it on screen all day and update it as I go along? (Is it that cool?)

If I purchase the GTD Outlook add-in, can I install it at home and in woodwork, or do I need to buy two copies?

I would have no foreseeable requirements for graphic or sound features.

Which PDA would cover these basic requirements?

(I Hope someone has the time to answer all these!).

Thanks.

Dave

rossw

Registered
Dave,

The basic answer is "yes" to all of the above. (you can synch any type of file, though not all will run on the pocket machine).