GTD and Evernote: Notebook or Tag approach

cdelft

Registered
I am fairly new to GTD, but am already convinced that it will help me. I want to use Evernote and Outlook to implement the system. I have seen some videos on different websites and I bought and read the manual on GTD and Evernote from the GTD site. Most of the people out there seem to recommend using tags with only 2-3 notebooks (in, processed, archive) whereas the GTD manual uses a notebook approach with several notebook--for each type of action/context.

Can any of you give me feedback about the pro and cons of a notebook vs. tag approach?

mcogilvie

Registered
Tags tend to proliferate in Evernote, and your contexts may get lost among other metadata. Some of the Evernote GTD implementations fail under stress tests, e.g., when you have the flu. Notebooks are a clean way to maintain your lists.

cdelft

Registered
Thank you for input! At what level do you recommend using tags, or do you not use them at all? I can definately see for example that separating projects from contexts is good, but would you have a notebook for each project in a stack called Projects or would you have a notebook called projects and each project in a separate note. Likewise with contexts: one notebook for contexts and notes for each context with tags for the context, or a notebook stack called contexts and separate notebooks for each context? It seems like one could end up drowning in notebooks also, and that to see all projects or SNAs I would have to open a lot of notebooks? Maybe there are more tricks to evernote than I have learned yet--not yet very experienced with Evernote either, but have been using it because I work across all kinds of platforms.

emmalazarus

Registered