GTD for the not so busy?

N

NoobIT

Hello, I'm new to GTD and find it fascinating. It really seems geared to the ultra-busy people which I am not. Having said that, I do like to be organised and on top of things, even at the 50,000ft level. I've pretty much gone through the whole book and need some advice if anyone is able to help please?

First off, is GTD a bit OTT for the not-so-very-busy? I only have around 5-6 projects on the go.

Second, After having created my projects list, what do I do? This doesn't seem very well explained. Am I supposed to think about all or just one of the next action steps for each project and add them to my next actions lists?

Third, sometimes I get really long emails sent to me, they go way over the 2minute rule just to determine what to do with them - so the question is, which actions list should this be assigned to? Does it make sense to have a @UnreadEmails?

Many thanks
NoobIT

kewms

Registered
If you only have five or six projects, you may need to make sure that you've really captured *everything,* and that you've followed the GTD definition of a project. While you know your workload better than I do, that's a very very small number. If you're only including, say, your currently assigned work deliverables, then you're probably missing the majority of the things that are actually going on in your life.

Second, After having created my projects list, what do I do? This doesn't seem very well explained. Am I supposed to think about all or just one of the next action steps for each project and add them to my next actions lists?

To move a project forward, all you need is the very next physical action. That goes on your NA list. Now, you may find that you'd rather plan things out in much more detail. That's fine, but those additional plans are project support, not Next Actions (unless they are immediately doable with no dependencies).