GTD Macintosh iCal

Hello,

Anyone using Mac's iCal in conjunction with GTD process? How's it going. I haven't figured out how to integrate the two, but I'm a newbie to GTD. I read 2/3 of book and took seminar in DC March 07.

GTDWorks

Registered
I have been using iCAL but the task list is so weak that I've had to go back to Entourage. I hope the next iteration of the OS will see improvements to the iCAL Task function.

T

thoppa

I use iCal. I happen to love iCal as a calendaring application.(I've got my work calendar, our work "public" folder, my personal google calendar all in one app- plus I can keep track of sports schedules too) That said, it doesn't quite meet my needs as a task app. It's awfully close, especially with various applescripts or add-ins to transfer items from Apple Mail.

So, I use the KGtd add-in for omnioutliner.

It syncs back to iCal (and there, the pda).

mcogilvie

Registered
3103;47352 said:
Hello,

Anyone using Mac's iCal in conjunction with GTD process? How's it going.

I have used a number of tricks to make ical display what I want when I want it, but it is really a much better calendar than task list. Task list printing is very bad. If you have only one computer and don't sync to a handheld, do yourself a favor and look into some of the good GTD-oriented task list apps for the mac. Some of the freeware and low-cost shareware ones are quite good. If you have two computers and/or sync to a handheld, your options are much more limited. That is my situation, alas.

unstuffed

Registered
3103;47352 said:
Hello,

Anyone using Mac's iCal in conjunction with GTD process? How's it going. I haven't figured out how to integrate the two, but I'm a newbie to GTD. I read 2/3 of book and took seminar in DC March 07.

The one magic thing about iCal is the connection you can make with Mail Tags and Mail ActOn. These are two shareware additions to Mac Mail that let you do all sorts of groovy things.