GTD system for Mac/PC user

A

astoria

Let me start by saying that I am new to GTD. I have already listened to an audiobook version of GTD, and now I am in the process of reading the actual book.

I can see the great potential in GTD, and how it can improve my life. However, I am not sure what might be the best way for me to implement it. I am seeking your help and guidance.

This is my current working enviorment:

One PC in the Office.
One PC at Home.
One MAC laptop.

I also have Nokie E61 (Symbian S60 3rd edition) that I carry with me.

I have two main email accounts:
GMAIL account for personal usage
Exchange account for work related emails.

Currently I have the E61 synced to an exchange server and I have my gmail emails forwarded to the exchange server. This way I can read all my emails while I am on the go and I can access it via web interface from whereever I am at.I can also sync my contacts/calendar with the exchange server.

My main GTD "inboxes"
1. my email inbox - probably accounts for 80% of traffic
2. regular work/personal mail
3. meetings notes
4. voicemail
5. regular office memos - very few.

For the lo-tech inbox, I plan to use 1 inbox tray at work and 1 at home. I will file the items that needs filling.

Most of my actions, however, begin with email requests. Furthermore, most of these actions will require me at some point to reply to the email that generated the actions. It seems to me that because I am so heavly focused on emails that I should go with an integrated Email GTD solutions. The problem, however, is that if I go with Outlook/Thunderbird implementation, the system will be local on the computer running the client and I will not be able to access it from my other computers. If instead I go with a GMAIL solution, then I need to send my work emails and actions to my gmail email (something that I don't want to do).