Handling The Volume?

jpm

Registered
I've recently been promoted to a management position, and my area of responsibility has been increased dramatically. I've been working getting things done for over a couple of months now after being a long-time Franklin Day Planner user and usign Tony Robbin's RPM planning method for several years. I really believe that GTD is making a difference, but only from the standpoint that things would be a lot worse with out it...

I typically get between 20 to 40 e-mail messages an hour. This volume is in addition to 1-3 voice mails per hour, A couple of walk-ins in an hour, and a schedule of about 80-90% of the 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. work day scheduled as face to face meetings. My department is at 50% staff for the work-load we're being given, and I'm finding it increasingly difficult to handle this.

I typically come in early to plan and leave late after reviewing e-mail, but I feel like I have no time to actually work on next actions. I've tried blocking time, and pushing back, but so far the demands of my superiors have made those techniques impossible.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

jpm

A

Anonymous

Re: Handling The Volume?

jpm said:
I've recently been promoted to a management position, and my area of responsibility has been increased dramatically.

I typically get between 20 to 40 e-mail messages an hour. This volume is in addition to 1-3 voice mails per hour, A couple of walk-ins in an hour, and a schedule of about 80-90% of the 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. work day scheduled as face to face meetings. My department is at 50% staff for the work-load we're being given, and I'm finding it increasingly difficult to handle this.

jpm

Just off the top of my head:

1) You are spending way too much time in meetings. What are the meetings about? Who are they with?
2) Is your 50% staffing temporary? Should you be spending time hiring staff and training them?