Hard Edges: Processing and Organizing

O

OldCorpse

Hi, I'm a GTD newbie, and this is my intro post :)

I have a really dumb question.

I understand that one can do any of the five stages of the GTD methodology at any time, and that it's very important to clearly define hard edges between the various stages (Collect, Process, Organize, Review, Do).

Now, I understand all the distinctions between the stages, except for Processing and Organizing. I mean, how can you process without organizing? Except for filing, of course. DA says you can engage in any single stage all by itself. I can see that you can just Collect, just Review, and just Do, but how can you just Process without Organizing at the very same time... again, except for filing.

Whenever I process it seems to me I also organize... which leads me to believe that I don't understand organizing or processing or both (hard edges).

I realize there's a very simple answer that I just can't see, but, hey, I'm a noob :)

Thanks in advance!

kewms

Registered
In the processing step, you look at an item and decide what it is and what to do with it.

In the organizing step, you add the resulting NA to the appropriate context list, and the resulting project to the project list.

In a mature system, it's true that the two activities tend to blur together, and that's fine. Still, they *can* be separated.

What if your boss walks in before you actually put the item on your NA list? Then you can put the processed item back in your inbox, ideally with a note reminding you what you planned to do with it.

What if you discover that you need to create a new context? Or need to fill out a project information sheet? You might defer these tasks until you're done going through your inbox, and then organize a bunch of NAs all at once. (The initial sweep being the canonical example of this.)