How can I work with GTD as a Freelancer?

FoundMyTime

Registered
Hi there everyone,

I'm a freelance copywriter/content writer. I just signed up for the email list and created an account here to see if GTD is right for me. I know it's been around for more than 30 years, but I don't 'get' the model for working in my business.

I want to have time to: write my blog posts and e-newsletter articles, prospect, (such as making direct cold calls) and write the actual client writing that actually pays the bills. Right now eight hours or more really flies by as I research high-probability prospects to call/email, contact them when they are good ones to call, and write my own business content. When I have a priority to do a demanding client project, I don't get calls made, or I don't get content written for my online business. I'm not able to be very productive as I am.

How do I "Capture" everything? Is there more information in the book, or am I supposed to watch the clock and keep track of what I do for an hour at a time? I'm also investigating using a time tracking app that doesn't necessarily track work for a particular client project.

How would GTD work for me?

Thanks,
FMT

TesTeq

Registered
I want to have time to: write my blog posts and e-newsletter articles, prospect, (such as making direct cold calls) and write the actual client writing that actually pays the bills. Right now eight hours or more really flies by as I research high-probability prospects to call/email, contact them when they are good ones to call, and write my own business content. When I have a priority to do a demanding client project, I don't get calls made, or I don't get content written for my online business. I'm not able to be very productive as I am.