How to organize project folders?

Layla

Registered
Hello!

I've flirted with GTD before, but only read the book recently - and loved it!

I'm still struggling with a few concepts and implementing things, though.
I've had stuff in project folders before, they are what David Allen calls 'blobs' though - pretty much a catchall for everything related to a project (or goal/area of interest).

I have A LOT of very diverse interests and projects, and have recently started dividing stuff in the folders into 'active', 'later', 'someday/maybe', and 'reference material' (which may also be someday/maybe) - eg notes from books/printed articles from internet. Some things are also ongoing, some may take a few years or decades to keep up with, research and track, while they're not always 'active' or they're on the backburner.

Some are seasonal/weather related, like learning to garden (am a newbie) or be self-sufficient-ish, food preservation etc (newbie here too :)). I can get excited and very much into something (coming up with a lot of NAs in between), and then get interested in something completely different and put the rest on backburner. And then return to previous interests, something Barbara Sher calls 'scanners'.

There's things like music/songwriting, writing and eco stuff, maybe starting up a biz and/or NGO and maybe living on a farm :) etc. (Of course these are all 'things to research' too..) Many are not just 'maybe/someday' or 'later' projects, but basically ongoing. They can be active for a while and then get back to 'later', so easy transport/swappability of files/NAs/project support info between 'active' and 'maybe' would be needed.

Also, while 'live on a farm' or 'have bees' is a wish/maybe/later project, 'research living on a farm' or having bees is a current project (and not just NA, as it consists of many different sub-projects and is ongoing!). It seems silly to have these in separate folders though.