How to stay on the wagon?

AdrianHolmes

Registered
This is my first post on here so most importantly... Hello.

I've been fascinated by GTD for almost a year now. Initially, I used the Internet and podcasts as my main research tool. However, my first attempt to learn GDT wasn't very successful so picked up David Allen's book which I can honestly say is a must.

I'm now 4 months into my second attempt and it's going much better by I'm still falling at the first hurdle.

The tools I'm using are Trello and Evernote with several IFTTT recipes which copy cards from Trello board to board or board to Evernote. It's still a work in progress and I'm in the 'learn how to use your system' phase.

I'm a seasoned Web Developer and perfectly happy in a purely digital environment.

My initial goal is to master the capture, clarify and organise skills. However, I keep 'falling off the wagon' when it comes to capturing. I'll start by capturing everything then, as time goes by, I capture less and less until one day when I'll realise I'm not capturing anymore. It seems the old habits just don't want to go away. Of course after a month when I suddenly realise I'm not capturing I'll sit down and empty my head again.

Perhaps this is the learning curve? Maybe the month will become 3 weeks, 2 weeks, 1 week, none?

This very much feels like a reprogramming habits problem. Capturing isn't physically difficult for me. I have a Trello 'Inception' board with an 'Inbox' column among others. This is my digital inbox. I also have a physical inbox for none-digital media. I'm at a computer pretty much 16 hours a day and when I'm, not I can quickly capture any thoughts via the Trello app. I can also capture a web page or tweet in a single click.

As a side note, I'll detail my system in a new post in the near future, I suspect the community feedback would kick start a flood of ideas.