Musicians and GTD

ddewees

Registered
I was wondering if there are any musicians in this forum and how you are applying GTD to learning and performing music. I am well beyond the "learn an instrument" phase. I have been playing guitar for over 20 years and am part of a band that plays out 2-3 times a month on the weekends. We have 50 songs on our set list and are typically learning 3-5 new songs. I am also taking advanced guitar lessons and beginning vocal lessons. I have a small library of other musical instruction material (books, video, magazines) to improve technical aspects of my playing, learn music theory and new styles of music. My musical interests range from the rock cover songs we play in the band, to electric and acoustic blues and jazz.

Even before GTD I was a big list maker and since using GTD for the past 3 years or so, I have been thru a few iterations of integrating my song lists and other musical goals with GTD principles. I have tried treating songs as Projects and breaking things into Next Actions but it seems to get cumbersome in my MS Outlook implementation.
I have read Barry Green’s Inner Game of Music and Jack Grassel’s Power Practicing concepts. Each musician/author proposes ways to approach practicing which are compatible with GTD, including goal setting and journaling.
In my latest incarnation I moved my Projects and Next Actions out of Outlook and into Excel Spreedsheets.

Currently I have set up the following lists:
Music Projects Workbook with the following Worksheets
Cover Dolls - Band set list - including our 50 or so songs we perform as well as songs being introduced. I use a status indicator for Learning, Performance, Rehearsal, Someday/Maybe (songs I may suggest)
Misc Songs - Songs I want to learn outside of the band - Jazz and Blues Standard, Obscure Instrumental Guitar music
Lessons - Songs or concepts I am working on in my lesson