My Analysis of using the most popular tools for GTD - Outlook, Evernote, OneNote, etc

consultant

Registered
I just spent the last 3 days solid testing various tools with the intent of trying to do everything in the least number of tools possible. Unfortunately there is no tool that does it all surprisingly if you also want to do collaborative project task management well. If you don't need that, then Outlook is the closest all-in-one GTD tool I found where you can have your GTD system tightly integrated with your email collection, calendaring, and note taking. This is what I found.

I had abandoned Outlook a few years ago and was quite happy with Thunderbird for email collection however since I have a Office365 Home subscription I went back recently and and happy with the exception there is no native unified inbox to more efficiently manage inbox traffic from multiple e-mail accounts (really Microsoft? really?)

I'd suggest anyone looking to do GTD, check out "The Secret Weapon" (www.thesecretweapon.org) which used Outlook + Evernote for at least a good model of how to do it. You get an 'add to Evernote' function in outlook when you install Everote and you don't need an Exchange account to pull it off either, you can use any POP/IMAP account or Gmail/Outlook.com as your email repository. One big benefit of using Evernote is that it's free and if you are not tied to Microsoft products if you don't want to be if you are not currently using them or stop using them in the future. In addition, the web interface is fantastically robust as is the iOS and Android apps. With Microsoft, the web interfaces of Outlook and OneNote and the ios and Android apps are severely limited (obviously to encourage you to buy and use their desktop products.) It's all about flexibility and portability.