Netcentrics' GTD addin for Outlook 2016

Discussion in 'PUBLIC: Discuss Tools & Software for GTD' started by Andre Sarafilovic, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. Andre Sarafilovic

    Andre Sarafilovic Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Scotland
    I currently use Office 365 Outlook 2016 and the Netcentrics' GTD addin, but today Office365 automatically updated my Outlook to the latest version and now the GTD addin is no longer working properly, and gives the error as per the uploaded image.

    Anyone else had this problem or knows of a fix?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Many Capture.PNG thanks

    Andre
     
  2. Michael Scott

    Michael Scott Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT Services Manager
    Location:
    Scotland
    Andre,

    I had exactly the same thing happen to me.

    I narrowed the problem down to any part of the add-in that used the list object, i.e. Project Central and Manage Actions. The rest of the add-in continued to work fine.

    I did the following:

    1. Uninstalled the Outlook GTD add-in.
    2. Uninstalled Office 2016 (Click and Run version from Office 365).
    3. Rebooted laptop.
    4. Installed Office 2016 (Click and Run).
    5. Installed Outlook GTD add-in.
    6. Checked the licence was activated using SysInfo (can be found here).

    Everything has worked fine since. Hope this helps.

    Michael
     
  3. Andre Sarafilovic

    Andre Sarafilovic Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Michael

    Many thanks for your reply.

    I tried as you suggested and it worked, but when Office365 updated to the latest version , it started to fail again.

    My fix so far, was to roll back to a previous version and switch off auto updates, and hope future releases don't cause this problem.

    Version 1705 (Build 8201.2158) works OK

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb...er-version-of-office-2013-or-office-2016-clic

    Regards

    Andre
     
  4. eeeeun

    eeeeun Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi Michael/Andre

    Thanks for this. I'm using office 365 and had to go to (8229.2086)

    Hopefully it's just a bug in the update that might be rectified.

    Any thoughts on what you might do in the long run if this can't be overcome in the future?

    I really like the ability to add tasks/emails to projects. I haven't had much luck looking for alternatives.

    Regards
    Ian
     
  5. Andre Sarafilovic

    Andre Sarafilovic Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Ian

    I have not as yet, found anything as good as the Netcentrics product. ClearContext (http://www.clearcontext.com/) was close, but not as easy to use and not a true GTD product, in my opinion.

    Surprised they stopped this product, but can only assume user-base was not big enough - But I wonder if an annual licence model would have given them enough revenue to continue support!!

    I wonder if they would pass us the code royalty free, so as we could setup a user group to try and keep this product current via OpenSource ?

    Regards

    Andre
     
  6. eeeeun

    eeeeun Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I remember there being some requests by users at the time of their announcement about releasing the source code and I don't think they were open to the idea.

    It's a shame, I think it would be awesome to get a user group up and running around a product like that. I have a bit of .Net and programming experience. I'm not an expert but would certainly be willing to help where I can.
     
  7. Andre Sarafilovic

    Andre Sarafilovic Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Scotland
    No harm in asking again - I will let you know how i get on!
     
  8. eeeeun

    eeeeun Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Good luck. Might even be something worth getting a kick starter project happening.
     
  9. eeeeun

    eeeeun Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi All

    FYI, I did an install of the GTDOA addin on a new machine, updated office to the latest version and it worked. I haven't tried on my primary pc yet because I don't want to mess with it at this stage but thought perhaps a subsequent update has fixed the issue.

    One thing I'm having trouble with is the add in on my primary machine is showing as an upgrade and therefore won't activate using the given activation process. The activation process restarts the demo so I'm ok but would like to sort it out.

    upload_2017-9-27_9-29-29.png

    Anyone had any luck with this or have the complete removal instructions from netcentrics? I can't seem to track down a copy.

    Regards
    Ian
     

Share This Page