Newbie Q: Which list manager: Evernote, MindManager or something else?

Ship69

Registered
Hi

I am a GTD newbie. I need some a list good manager software to work with:
- My main PC - Windows7(x64) and
- My laptop - Windows8
- Microsoft Outlook 2010 (Office Pro)
- Android (Galaxy Note 3)

I have experimented with Mindjet MindManager 2012 which I already own. It is fun because it extremely visual, allows high speed data capture of lists and has some great hotkeys. However doesn't seem very easy to filter lists... ??

I am wondering about using Evernote. There is a free version with a big following but I am just a sole trader without much spare money and I am worried that I will find I need to buy the "Premium version" as £35/year is right at the very top of what I would be prepared to spend... (I hugely object to the subscription model, but what can you do!) Let alone G*d spare us, the "Business" version for £8/month (£96/year)... In practice would I need to upgrade or will the Free version be good enough?

BACKGROUND
I work as a freelance Internet consultant, specializing in SMEs.

Before you suggest these:
- I hate MS Word with a passion (I think is one of the least intuitive applications ever written) so I am keen to avoid that.
- I also hate Google (who are taking over the entire planet whilst we sleep walk into their arms)

Any suggestions?
Many thanks

J

JZajac

Registered
I use Outlook Tasks with customized categories for my list manager. I can print this, export it to other products, and because Outlook is my primary email, it works great for me. I haven't tried any of the products you mentioned, but you might look into OneNote - I hear that it works beautifully with your other devices.

Ship69

Registered
Oh-oh, this guy is saying that both Evernote and OneNote are less good than dedicated GTD software - e.g. GTDnext and a commenter firmly recommends Toodledo... :^(