Next Actions for creative, time intensive projec

A

Anonymous

Hi,

I'm new to GTD - just listened to it on my audible Otis last weekend. Just one question that was nagging me while i was listening. what do you do with next actions for creative, time intensive projects? I mean, how can I break it down further - or generally speed up and be more productive?

I'm a freelance radio producer, recently I've been doing promotional documentaries for businesses and organizations. My projects have about a 10 week time frame. My work format is probably similar to any independent creative professional, so any freelance writers, film producers, whoever, I'd love to hear your input.

Is this an effective next action:

"Write script"

Because that could take me a half hour or it could take me all day. Seems like I'm a perfectionist and time just flows by. Then I have no time for anything else.

Or even
"brainstorm ideas for script"
"write rough draft"
"Finalize draft."

NO matter how clean it looks on my next actions list, the actual doing of the thing seems so unpredictable.

Thanks for this forum! :D

Gregory

H

helenjc

Gregory
Hi and welcome to this great forum.
I think a lot of us struggle with the same issues.
For example have a look at this post
http://www.davidco.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=360
There were some very inspirational suggestions posted here which I am grateful for.
I've also found mind mapping to be quite helpful for breaking things down to chunks and capturing any flying thoughts about projects to then turn into mini projects or next actions.
In particular a lot of us were taken with and have implemented Frank's 'mini outcome statement' suggestion for defining projects.
Let us know how you go. I myself would love to post up all my projects and get someone else to define them for me - it's really difficult I find but I'm sure it's something we will eventually find easier.
cheers Helen

J

Jason Womack

Re: "Next Actions" for creative, time intensive pr