Projects - prioritizing feature requests

B

bln

I've been reading about and slowly starting to follow GTD for about 6 months now.

I'm a bit confused about organizing my projects.
I'm a software engineer - so often a project contains subprojects as well as requests. We are a small team of 3-5 people.

For example:

Project: Complete version 1.2 of software
Subproject: Get latest compiler
Tasks: Download
Tasks: Install
Tasks: Test
Subproject: Fix account login
(etc. you get the picture)

I've thought about switching to a project management software for the overall picture, but how do I integrate that with GTD in my task scheduler, etc.

And how does one handle requests and meetings?
e.g. User feature requests - "add new user type" - would I just add a new "subjproject" as needed?
e.g. Get updated xyz from Miriam at next meeting.

Maybe I'm missing something, but it's all just a little confusing. =)

TIA,

Becky

F

Frank Buck

Many people have had good things to say about Shadow, although I don't have any experience with it. It you routinely have projects that have subprojects which in turn have their own subprojects, Shadow seems to be designed to handle that.

As far as what I do personally, each subproject is a different entry on the projects list. If needed, the overall project is also an entry.

L

laurence

Projects - Prioritzing Feature Requests

"Maybe I'm missing something, but it's all just a little confusing. =) "

becky -