Proposal Managers on GTD?

friemanw

Registered
Hi. I am a proposal manager and I am wondering if there are others out there. We are on deadline for much of our professional lives. We can't just choose from a bunch of things on our lists what to do now based on context, etc. or based on what is getting our attention. There are things that have to get done each day (different ones each day) or we will miss interim deadlines which could mean a late proposal delivery which means the proposal is not accepted. Often those things take up the entire day for days at a time. I am wondering how others in this field use GTD to schedule proposal tasks. Also wondering if someone at GTD might be interested in collaborating on a specialized GTD tool for this environment? Maybe it already exists and I don't know about it?
Thanks,
Wendy

enyonam

Registered
I have to manage a lot of proposals with varying due dates. Some need to be turned around in a day or two, and some are very large pieces of work that could take several months.

The first thing I did that really made a huge difference in how I use my GTD system to manage proposals was my proposal checklist. It is a generic checklist that specified at the level of tasks and serves as a good reminder of all the things the team needs to consider when writing a proposal. When I start a new proposal I typically create one project and paste the proposal checklist in the notes section as a 'next actions' list which I can continually refer to. My checklist is also organised by headers so if I need to group think on specific areas they go into a mindmap where we can plan out what we need to do with the proposal. This checklist / mindmap becomes my 'control room' for the proposal.