Replacing the idea of Tool Based Contexts with Areas of Focus?

ivanjay205

Registered
I have a current set of contexts that are mostly tool based. As most can attest to I get too much in my computer list. I have subdivided it into Computer-->ipad-->phone tasks which are all nested so that when working on a tool within this group I can see what I can work on. That works well for me.

However, I find that context switching in terms of tool is not really what slows me down because in today's work it is all really available.

The limiting criteria for me seem to be time as my first one (I am a business owner with large responsibilities in lots of different areas so maximizing time is critical) and secondly I seem to work better on a single project or scope of my responsibility vs a context. For example switching from computer to make a phone call and back does not bother me. There are very few things I can only do in my office (a few but very few). However, switching form finance to HR to IT that requires my brain to switch "modes" And while I know the intent of GTD is not filter by this way i am wondering if anyone ever has and has had success with it?

Gardener

Registered
I have a current set of contexts that are mostly tool based.
I've never found tool based contexts to be useful, largely for the reason that you describe--the context switch between different projects with different goals costs me a lot more than the switch between different tools, especially when "different tools" just means different pieces of software or different devices, all available in the same place.