Resisting email @actions - suggestions?

Ambar

Registered
I have been using GTD for upwards of six months and have found it to be a godsend for keeping track of what I've committed to.

However, I'm still having trouble with email management and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

In short, I'm in high tech and I get a lot of email. I dutifully clean out my Inbox and put actionable stuff into @actions... and then I resist looking at that poor little folder for all I'm worth.

My intuition is that just because a particular piece of email needs acting on, does not mean that the email itself constitutes a "Next Action". (I have one message sitting there right now, for which the next action is "write report of jamspam meeting", for which I have 3 closely written pages of notes and a huge amount of resistance!) So perhaps the answer is to actually process the emails, put a Next Action on some list (and optionally, a project in Projects) and file the emails as supporting material.

How do others handle this problem? I hate feeling this stuck with an otherwise marvelous system.

Cheers,

Ambar
http://ambarconsulting.com/

M

Mercedes

Ambar, personally I have separated mails that are to read and file with a different priority than the rest of the actions.

So I know that in actions remains actions that need be done with more urgency, than read e-newsletters.

I also have some trouble with the regular reviews (all the list, and actions too).

Put yourself small challenges each week.

E.g.: this week I will look at my actions folder once.

Regards
MERCEDES :roll:

A

Anonymous

Have you considered dragging the mails straight into the task list? (Works best if you keep the list grouped by category, so you can drag a mail straight to @pc, @read, @phone, @agenda or whatever). You can then bang in an action in the subject line, possibly a contact if relevant, and "alt s".