Stuck between a GTD Rock and Hard Place

Leonadial

Registered
I find myself in a place where I can't imagine going back to life before GTD but I'm so ineffective at implementing it that it's actually counter productive. I've been working at it for over 5 years now and I need some help! Let me provide some context.

I'm a 40 year old guy, just relocated to Singapore with my family to take a new role where I lead a sales team for a software company I've been with 16 years. I'm responsible for APAC region while our HQ is back in Europe. Mornings should be when I can get some work done, while afternoons, when Europe and then US comes online, are when the back-to-back calls start. Given the global nature of our business, I'm getting 200-300 emails a day to process, coming in all day long.

So my day starts with trying to process the new emails from overnight. Sometimes 50-100, of which 10%-30% will have next actions for me, and of course hundreds more come in during the day. I have a number of Outlook plugins and mouse shortcuts that help me delete, file and convert to next actions anything I can't delegate or do in 2 mins. But this process can still take me 1-2 hrs, especially if I didn't get my inbox to zero the previous evening. So it's mid-morning at best before I even look at my next action list, get a few overdue things done and then grab a quick lunch before the back-to-back calls start.

Any notes and action items I take from meetings or calls I usually capture on paper, and I make sure to clearly mark the AIs with the intent that I copy them into my OutlookClearContext based lists later, but sometimes this happens days only later. Heaven forbid I'm away on business travel for a few days, my inbox gets out of control and I feel even more overwhelmed.