Tickler file as described by DA

K

ko

I'm new to GTD - I've only been using it for a couple weeks now. I've implemented most of DA's suggestions, with great success. One thing that I haven't implemented, though, is the tickler file.

I can see where this setup would be helpful, but only for a very few items. It doesn't seem that I would get too much use out of it. For those of you who do use a tickler file, for either personal or professional use, could you please explain how you use it? Specifically, what things do you put in it?

I'm hoping input from others will help me to evaluate whether I want to set up something similar.

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

Okay, I'll give it a shot...
I have found the Tickler files to be very helpful. I use them for my personal and volunteer commitments. I'll start with the months...I love having a place to put the random info that comes in. Some examples:
* I'm visiting my parents during Spring Break and came across an article that had some interesting kid places to visit near where they live. I stuck this in my April Tickler file.
* Ideas for my son's birthday party go in the July file. Ideas for my daughter's party in the January file. When it gets closer they get their own temporary file, but I don't like to have a tons of files.
* April has a flier for Earth Day activities.
* May has a flier for a 1-day enrichment program that my son might be interested in. It also has a form that is due in June.
* June has fun summer kid activities.
* Sept has a United Way flier that I need to distribute to local companies for my volunteer org.
* October has some Halloween costume ideas.