Using GoldMine Project Manager for GTD

A

Anonymous

Jump starting the new year with GTD book, tapes and telecoaching. Great stuff.

But I need the help of experienced GTD users to make my system fully successful. Specifically, I need input about using GoldMine Project Manager with GTD system.

For years I have used GoldMine extensively and will continue to use it for my contact manager. I've used the old Covey system of entering every action, phone call, errand, etc. on the calendar rather than keeping it sacred. Then those items just roll over every day and give pop-up alarms that interrupt thought and actions.

I think the GoldMine project manager would be a great help keeping tracks of projects. I'd like to know if you agree based on experience with GTD and GoldMine.

As an estate planning attorney I do a lot of projects that are repetitive, just for different clients at different times - eg prepare an estate plan, probate a will, etc. The next actions (tasks) are generally the same for each type of project - don't need to brainstorm, mind map etc too much - just individualize the plan to the client. With the GM Project manager it is possible to standardize those individual task, next actions, calls, etc in a template that can be used in each future project. I just don't know how well this works with the GTD system.

Has anyone used the GoldMine project manager successfully in this way? If so, would you please post a response? Would you allow me to have a phone conversation about the specifics of this topic? You may e-mail me off list at meoffice@arn.net or call the number below.

Thanks for your assistance.

Mark R. Ensign, JD, CPA
Attorney and Counselor at Law
500 S. Taylor, LB 228, Suite 1060
Amarillo, Texas 79101-2445
806-373-77056

A

Anonymous

Hi Mark,

I too, have used GoldMine for many years. I rely on it heavily for business and personal information tracking.