Using GTD to Establish Habits

K2Karen

Registered
I’m just getting started with GTD and have blocked out the next couple of days to get set up.

I have a question about using GTD to achieve goals relating to habits. For example, I have a goal to establish a daily meditation habit.

I can see that I could put a next action of “sit”, but that doesn’t seem to capture the “daily” part.
Or I could calendar an item called “sit”. But it isn’t really associated with a time.
Or I could set up a project of “establish meditation habit”, with a next action of “sit today”. And then a next action of “sit tomorrow”.

I’m curious if any particular way more effective?

J

jmarkey

I prefer putting an untimed event on my calendar for about 30 days or so until the new habit is formed. If I skip a day, I delete the event for that day. After 30 days, I can look back to see how I did. I would put Meditate.

M

MarkTAW

A little remembered part of GTD was called, I believe, "Automatic Success Mechanisms." I.e. putting your briefcase in front of the door so you remember to take it. Finding a habit you already have and intercepting it with something else.

If you want to meditate for a certian period of time each day, I'd suggest you find something you already do that's negative to replace it with what you want, like watching TV or eating chocolate cake. Just make that mental connection TV -> Meditate. Set your TV to a specific channel that will remind you to meditate or something. Sort of like tying a piece of string around your finger.

Brent

Registered
Interesting question here.

I have a similar habit: Strength training. I've found my best solution is to put a paper with "STRENGTH TRAINING" written on it in big letters in my Tickler file. I pull it out at the beginning of my day, put it (along with others) on my desk, and work through them as I have opportunities.