Web-enabled cell phone use

MKronstadt

Registered
Does anyone use the web browser on their cell phone for something really useful?

I have a month free trial on web access for my new Verizon LG VX8300, but other than checking in for my Southwest Airline flights, I haven't found anything worth the hassle. (Buying ringtones doesn't count.)

R

ritz

Oops...

I didn't exactly answer your question - each of those uses it's own (free) app rather than your browser. Still useful things for a web enabled phone though.

TesTeq

Registered
Weather report / status.

Realtime weather report / status for windsurfing planning.
Realtime financial information browsing if I'm not in office.

jviscusi

Registered
Checking RSS Feeds

I check my RSS feeds (with Google's Reader). I also use ORB (www.orb.com) to access media files on my Windows Media Server. I can stream video and audio direct to my phone

DHK

Registered
I have a subscription to audible.com. With "AudibleAir", I can program my Treo to download the morning's edition of the Wall Street Journal to listen to in the car. It is downloaded during the night, so that when I wake up, my WSJ is ready to listen to.

The unlimited data and the audible.com subscription work well for this kind of activity.

I used it to send an email with a PDF attachment that was in my PDA. That's was cool, but it took much longer via PDA than if I was at home (obviously).

D

dominicx@gmail.com

web phone uses

The real question you have to ask yourself is "what do I need the access for?"
If you just surf the web on the phone and you don't have high speed internet (which I do not have) you will feel like 1996 dialup user all over again.