What did D.Allen mean by this?

ctklai

Registered
Hi there,

I'm new to GTD and these forums and was hoping to get some clarification regarding knowledge work.

D.A. describes the profound operational principle of knowledge work as:

You have to think about your stuff more than you realize but not as much as you're afraid you might.

Maybe it's the way he phrased it that troubles me or the wording he used but will anyone care to try to explain what this principle and phrase means to them personally?

(personal anecdotes and recounts would help immensely!)

Thanks!!

Kind regards,
Calvin

enyonam

Registered
Processing

For me, this quote is all about processing. Since becoming a GTD'er I think this is one of the biggest benefits for me. I think once about an input, make a decision about how to move it forward, park it in my lists if I have to, and then I don't have to 'think' about it again. I just do. Before, I would pass by it in email or written down on a piece of paper, ruminate about it, pass by it again a few days later, ruminate some more ... probably from scratch, and maybe by the end of the week, make a choice on what to do next. Not anymore!

One of the statements I use a lot when processing is one that Meg Edwards said on one of the GTD Connect webinars - 'You don't have problems, you have projects.' I use this regularly. I'll give an example from a group that I got together to introduce to GTD. We had just done a short mindsweep and everyone was taking an example from their list and going through the workflow. We got to the last person in the group and she says "I wrote, I want to get married. Can GTD help me make that happen?"