What do I do when next task is not a Next Action

Jabmist

Registered
I'm new to this GTD and I think I'm missing something.
Lets say I have 3 projects that I can do at my desk, at work.
(call them project A,B, &C)
each has 3 or more steps involved.
Project A is very important and due on Friday,
B is due next Friday,
and C at the end of the month.

I've put the first step of each of the projects as the "Next Action"

I get to my desk on Monday, and look at my "Next Actions", I see A1, B1 and C1.
Knowing A1 is important, I do that first.
An hour later, I look to see what to do next, and my "Next Action" list says B1
Even though A2 is really the next thing I should do.

If I review my projects in a weekly review, than I wont get to A2 until the end of the week.

Myriam

Registered
NA is a bookmark, not a to do-list

your NA list is a bookmark, and not a complete to do list.

This means that:
- during your weekly review last friday you've reconfirmed that project A is important this week.
- when starting to work on monday, your NA list will tell you where you were within project A.
- result (of both): you will know A1 is the important one, and you need to do that first

After finishing A1 you have a choice:
- either you're satisfied with your working on that project for today, and you add A2 to your NA list (new bookmark) for the next time (maybe tomorrow) you will work on project A
- either you continu in the work flow of project A, also executing A2, A3, A4 (so they never get on your NA list), and then finishing by putting A5 on your NA list (by the end of the day, of when you have to leave for a meeting, or when you get tired of working on project A)
- either you continu in the work flow of project A and finish the whole project, then nothing goes on your NA list