What to do during breaks

L

lion

What do you guys do while you want to take a 5-10 minute break from work. I'm a student and follow the recommendation to study in blocks of 20-50 minutes with 5-10 minute breaks. I usually go for 45-50 minutes, then take a 5-10 minute break, but I usually find myself walking around thinking, "hmmm... this is interesting, there's nothing to do..." My question is, what do some of you do if you ever take 5-10 minute breaks?

kewms

Registered
stretch
play with the cats
get something to drink (preferably water or juice)
get a light snack
sort through the (paper) mail
load or unload the dishwasher
sort or fold laundry
take a walk
make a social phone call

The key for me is to do something physical--so surfing the Internet doesn't count--that isn't too mentally demanding.

Katherine

Day Owl

Registered
Exercise: hand weights, yoga stretches, anything that gets the body moving and provides a complete distraction from brain work.

Brent

Registered
Great list! A few more suggestions:

• Meditate
  • Brainstorm on another project
  • Think up ten questions about something (birds, house building, wood; whatever)
  • Observe your work from a higher level. Is it useful? How useful? Could you be doing it better?

Meditate 2 Minutes?

Brent;52325 said:
Great list! A few more suggestions:

• Meditate

That one sounds incredible: is there a way of meditation that specializes on 2 minutes or less per session? I'd be very interested to link to it on the @Home.2Minutes list!

Rolf

Brent

Registered
There's no specific meditation system I know of that specializes in two-minute increments, but I certainly do it.

Imagine a particular object. Choose something simple and calming, like a candle flame or a wooden box (or nothing at all). Try to think only about that object. As other thoughts surface, re-center your mind on that object.