What to do to repeating actions?

P

Per

I am new to GTD and have the following questions.
I have created a project called "Improve physical strength"
My first action was "look for different GYM in my neighborhood"

But after that I get a repeating next action "excercise at GYM".
This action will be reapeted week after week.

The problem here is that my project does not have an obvious end. My next action will be repeating my whole life if a want to maintain my strength.

Maybe "Improve physical strength" should be a goal instead of a project.

I would really appreciate all your thoughts on these questions.

S

scott.stephen

Hello Per,

I am also new to GTDing, but would have to say that I would definitely put this into my Focus/Goals. For the “exercise at GYM” twice a week, I would put this in my calendar, for two reason: 1) Avoid the semi-conscious problem of booking another meeting/event at this time, just to avoid exercising. 2) By booking this time in your calendar, you help remove resistance to your exercising.

Hope this helps,
Scott

P

Per

Thanks for your answer Scott.

I guess that a project should have a beginning and an end in time.
Goals are something to strive for, e.g. improve health, improve memory technique or improve some skill etc.

I like your idea of booking my excercise in the calendar instead of having a repeating "next action" in order to remove the resistance to excercise. I have noticed a greater resistance for all my repeating actions and this will make the time for excercise more definitive.

Vegard

Registered
Going to the gym

I would shedule it in the calender until it becomes a habit.

I go to the gym mondays, wednesdays and fridays. I don't need my calender for that - it's a habit.

P

Per

Yes, after a while all "repeating actions" will become a habit and it will be unnecessary to book it in the calendar. Its just in the beginning before it becomes a habit you need the extra motivation of booking it in your calendar.