What's this, You can use mind manager as a project management tool

D

dwayneneckles

How is this so... I don't see how a mind map would be usful for that especially in comparison to microsoft project

David Allen, I heard you use it as such. Is there anyone that wants to give an example about how it's used as a project management tool, there is no documentation on the web site..

Dwayne

B

Big Wes

What do you mean by project? Are you referring to projects in project management terms (with work breakdowns, Gantt charts, etc.) or as David Allen defines them as something that will take multiple steps to complete?

I am a grant writer and I use MindManager as the back end of my GTD system. I create a project list mind map with topics for each funding source. I then add subtopics for each applicant I am assisting. Finally, I create Outlook tasks for the actions needed to move these projects forward and attach them to my subtopics. This provides me with a visual picture of all my current projects and actions.

For me, this, along with Outlook 2007, serves as my "project management" system. Whether or not a professional project manager could use this system is up to them. Finally, Mindjet has a page dedicated to project management using MindManager. You can find it here.

kewms

Registered
Mind maps do not (in general) replace Microsoft Project. (Although see Wes's pointer to Mind Jet's project management page.)

But the vast majority of projects (in the GTD sense) do not require Microsoft Project-scale planning tools.

And even for the very large projects that do need Microsoft Project, a mindmap can help in the early conceptual stages, as well as in brainstorming the individual subprojects.

It's not either/or, it's using the best tool for the job. I wouldn't try to drive nails with a screwdriver, either.

Katherine

pixlz

Registered
What's this, You can use mind manager as a project management tool