Which Smartphone/PDA would you buy today?

W

whode

I'm new to GTD and in the process of implementing it. At the same time, my cell phone's dying and I was just about to buy a new smartphone/pda like the TMobile Dash, Palm Treo, Samsung Blackjack or something similar.

Which smartphone/PDA would you buy today if you were using it as a part of your GTD system?

I'm in a small business Windows environment, so we don't use Exchange. I don't necessarily need to be able to access data via a wireless broadband connection (since I don't think I'll end up getting a data plan with my carrier). I'm open to getting a separate simple cellphone and a dedicated PDA (like a Treo or PocketPC) if that makes more sense.

R

ReBuild

I've gone with the Treo 680 as my smart phone. It means I now carry only 1 device rather than 2 (i.e. phone & PDA).

Additionally, my choose was driving by the fact that I've had Palm's in the past and know the os and programs.

Part of your though process should be:

1 OS - Palm or Windows
2 Phone carrier.

Those two issues will quickly cut down your options.

thr61

Registered
I have used a lot of different devices in the past and have recently gotten rid of my Palm Treo 700P due to Palm's inability to issue any kind of patch for its numerous problems. Instead, they seem more interested in releasing new phones and supporting Windows mobile.

I have simplified my system by moving to a Blackberry 8703 on Sprint. It synchs well with Outlook (where I use the GTD plug-in) and used with a 3rd party BB application (next action) it is perfect for a GTD implementation. My only other tools are a set of levenger plastic file folders, a large circa notebook, and a tablet notebook.

I would take a look at the Blackberry before going to Palm.

Runner7395

Registered
Treo 700P for me!