clarifying next actions list items versus calendar items

Evan Siegel

Registered
Hi all, newbie here and looking for some clarification on the GTD method. I'm a bit confused where I see overlap in regards to calendars and lists. David says only use a calendar if you have a day or time specific action. Lists however, can be assumed asap. However, asap in many cases has dates. Sometimes those dates are fixed and other times they are conditional. For example, if my credit card bill is due on the 26th of each month, would I put a reminder on the calendar on the 26th to pay it? Paying my credit card bill could also be on the 'at computer' list, which might just say 'pay bills'. Here's another example, on the errands list it might say 'pick up dry cleaning' and that is assumed as soon as possible. However, I have a wedding this Sunday (oct 8) so the dry cleaning has to be picked up no later than Oct 7th. In this case should it go on the calendar, list, or both? Should the notion be that lists contains items that do not have a firm date and are 100% open ended?

AnneMKE

Registered
On questions like this I try to go back to the basic GTD mantra -- where do I put this so I trust that it will be in front of me when I need it? For bills, the most trustworthy system for me is batch processing. I try to pay whatever has accumulated at least once a week, so I calendar/plan the batch at some point during the week and make sure the credit card bill (to take your example) is in it. (Moving as many bills as possible to autopay, and thus out of the system altogether, is also a big help.)

For the dry cleaning, assuming I don't go there every week, if I need it for the wedding, I might put it both in calendar and in next actions: belt and suspenders. Hope this helps!

kelstarrising

Kelly | GTD expert
Great question and here's a super simple way to remember where it goes:

If something needs to be done ON a day, it goes on the calendar