Urgent Matters

ElleExtreme

Registered
Hi,
I've been using my own incomplete/sort of dysfunctional GTD-system for slightly less than a year, and am currently reforming it significantly in order to get it working as intended.
I've skimmed the book, but there's one thing I've never quite grasped about the system (it may be that I just missed it though). How is the system supposed to handle urgent matters? With urgent, I mean anything that falls within the weekly-review cycle. I'm a student. I do my weekly reviews on weekends, but sometimes need to actually get stuff done in the scope of a week. E.g. say I get an assignment on Monday due Friday. It can't be processed as my general stuff.
So this is how I'm intending to do it;
Each day, I'll review all the new stuff I've collected since yesterday. Anything that needs to be acted upon before the next weekly review, I either do it immediately or create an "urgent next-action" and if applicable an "urgent project". The rest of the stuff I ignore (I wouldn't have time to do complete daily reviews, according to the methodology of the weekly ones). This means I'll have two lists distinct from my Next-actions lists and Project lists; Urgent Actions and Urgent Projects, which are reviewed daily as supposed to weekly. The Urgent action needs to be done before the next weekly review (e.g. an assignment), the urgent project needs progress, but when I feel it's in phase, it gets moved to the regular project list. I can't pick up a next action until all the urgent actions within that same context is done (if the context is absolutely fixed, i.e. I can't change it to make urgent actions possible).

What do you think? Does any of you use a similar system? Or how should I handle what's urgent (provided I can't do full daily reviews).

Thankful for any input.
Best Regards.

Gardener

Registered